There application and social network X (Twitter)p property of Elon Musk started to expand the ability to make audio and video calls for all users of the platform, who will now no longer need to have a subscription to X Premium to use it, as recently reported in a press release.

The social network has started to implement an option to achieve audio and video calls in October 2023, as part of its vision to turn X into an app for everything. Specifically, a feature was released that only users with a premium subscription had access to on iOS devices.

Later, in January 2024, the platform added this calling option to the version of the application for Android devices. However, it remained a feature exclusively accessible to users subscribed to the social network.

Now, X has started to implement audio and video calls for all users of the platform, whether or not they have a subscription to “, details the press release, can make and receive callssimply by tapping the call icon located in the upper right corner of direct message chats.

Likewise, X explained that users will be able to receive calls from accounts they follow or that they “have in their address book”, that is, in their contacts. Likewise, to call another user, a direct message must have been sent previously, at least once, to the person you wish to call.

User Warning

However, this appears to have a downside, as some media outlets have reported. Thus and as reported by various media, on March 3, X has automatically enabled a privacy editing feature on all profiles because they can reveal your IP address.

This new calling feature appears enabled by default and reveals the IP address of the device connected to the Internet, as shown by the new security options added in the “Privacy and security” section in direct messages. Concretely, those who already have access to calls and video calls can see a switch, both on iOS and on Android, which is the one that activates them by default, but which the user can decide to deactivate.

X Corp specifies that the ability to make and receive calls is limited to contacts with whom the user has exchanged a message via Direct Messages, in order to limit spam or unwanted calls.

However, it is also possible to establish that calls can be made with all contacts, only with verified users, only with people followed by the user (default option) or only with people he has in his contact book.

There’s also another switch called “Enhanced Call Privacy” that appears to be off by default and, if on, “prevents revealing the IP address” to the other person during a call. That is, by default, the new Call X feature appears enabled for people followed by the user and call privacy is disabled.

However, it is also possible to establish that calls can be made with all contacts, only with verified users, only with people followed by the user (default option) or only with people he has in his contact book.

By wbu4c

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *